Butler County Board of Elections Board Meeting Minutes January 2, 2024

The Butler County Board of Elections met on Tuesday, January 2, 2024, at 9:00 a.m., for a special meeting. Roll call was taken, and present were Chairman Frank Cloud, Member mariann penska, Member Todd Hall, Member Chris Wunnenberg III, Director Nicole Unzicker, Deputy Director Eric Corbin, Jesse Lightle, Liberty Township Administrator, Scott Phillips, Law Director for Liberty Township and Tom Farrel, Liberty Township Trustee.

Chairman Cloud introduced Document 1, sufficient Candidate petitions for the March 19, 2024, Primary Election. Director Unzicker explained that all of the candidates have met the statutory requirements. Member Wunnenberg moved to certify the candidates on Document 1; seconded by Member penska Roll call:

Chairman Cloud	yea
Member penska	yea
Member Hall	yea
Member Wunnenberg	yea
All in favor; motion carried.	

March 19, 2024 Primary Election **Board Certification** Butle County Candidates The following candidates have met the statutory requirements. Certified NRU 1/2/24 Admin. Sign & Date Representative to Congress (8th District) Vanessa Enoch – Democratic Nathaniel Hawkins – Democratic State Senator (4th District) Thomas Cooke – Democratic Candice Keller – Republican State Representative (45th District) • Landon P. Meador – Democratic State Representative (46th District) Benjamin McCall – Democratic Zachary R. Stacy – Republican State Representative (47th District) Vanessa R. Cummings – Democratic Sara Carruthers – Republican

County Commissioner (Full term commencing 01/02/2025)
Tamara Small – Democratic

County Commissioner (Full term commencing 01/03/2025)

• Chantel Raghu – Democratic

Deputy Director Coribn introduced Document 2, Sufficient Issues for the March 19, 2024, Primary Election, he stated all the issues have met the statutory requirements. Member penska moved to certify the issues on Document 2; seconded by Member Wunnenberg. Roll call:

· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
Chairman Cloud	yea
Member penska	yea
Member Hall	yea
Member Wunnenberg	yea
All in favor; motion carried.	

Director Unzicker introduced Document 3, Issues in Question for the March 19, 2024, primary Election. She explained there was a deficiency on the filing that could keep it off the ballot. There was a discussion about the certification of the resolutions to the Board of Elections. Member Wunnenberg moved to certify the issue to the ballot; seconded by Member Hall. Scott Phillips, Law Director for Liberty Township explained that there were issues when working with the State of Ohio and the Auditor's office because of changes to the calculations for the levy. Tom Farrel, Liberty Township Trustee, explained that the issue was initially filed earlier but had to be withdrawn because of the issues with the numbers. Roll call:

Chairman Cloud	yea
Member penska	yea
Member Hall	yea
Member Wunnenberg	yea
All in favor; motion carried.	

Deputy Director Corbin introduced Document 4, the 2024 Primary Election Administration Plan, he explained that it is very similar to submissions from the past. Member Hall asked how many people have worked on the document. Deputy Director Corbin explained that the template was changed in 2022 when he and Director Unzicker reviewed the whole document and that multiple staff members made changes before it was finalized. The Board Members asked that the document be marked "final", dated and changes be highlighted for the next submission. Member Hall moved to approve the 2024 Primary Election Administration Plan on Document 4; seconded by Member penska Roll call:

000
yea
yea
yea
yea

Member Wunnenberg moved to go into Executive Session to discuss personnel according to O.R.C. 121.22(G)(1) at 9:24 a.m.; seconded by Member Hall. Roll Call:

,
yea
yea
yea
yea

At 10:39 a.m. Chairman Cloud stated the board is back in session.

With no further business, Member Hall moved to adjourn the meeting; seconded by Member
penska. Roll call:Chairman CloudyeaMember penskayeaMember HallyeaMember WunnenbergyeaAll in favor; motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned at approximately 10:40 a.m.

Frank Cloud, Chairman

Nicole Unzicker, Director

Todd Hall, Member

Chris Wunnenberg III, Member

mariann penska, Member